Beat Street Records

Aretha Franklin - Aretha Arrives LP (50th Anniversary Edition)


50th Anniversary Mono Version On 180g Vinyl

Although the late great Aretha Franklin's chart career began in earnest at Columbia Records, it was her stint at Atlantic Records that made her into a superstar. 1967's Aretha Arrives, a stunning Jerry Wexler-produced release from the Detroit-raised, gospel-influenced goddess, is jam-packed with The Queen of Soul strutting her stuff in front of King Curtis and the Muscle Shoals house band. She completely "Aretha-fies" everything here – from the Rolling Stones' "Satisfaction" and ? and the Mysterians' "96 Tears" to the Frank Sinatra smash "That's Life" and "Ain't Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)," written by her sister, Carolyn Franklin – to create a firestorm of funky and soulful sounds that's impossible to resist.

  1. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  2. You Are My Sunshine
  3. Never Let Me Go
  4. 96 Tears
  5. Prove It
  6. Night Life (Live Version)
  7. That's Life
  8. I Wonder
  9. Ain't Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)
  10. Going Down Slow
  11. Baby, I Love You


Latest Tweets